Saturday, October 22, 2011

Gluten Free Pie Crust

I found this recipe on the Land O Lakes website.
Fall is a great time for pies. Now you can bake your favorite pie using this gluten-free pie crust recipe.
8 servings; 1 (12-inch) pie crust 5 Stars
1 1/4 cups Gluten-Free Flour Blend (see below)
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup cold Land O Lakes® Butter, cut into chunks
1/4 cup cold shortening
1 Land O Lakes® All-Natural Egg
3 tablespoons cold water
1/4 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

Combine flour blend, sugar, xanthan gum and salt in large bowl. Cut in butter and shortening with pastry blender or fork until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Combine egg, cold water and apple cider vinegar in small bowl; beat with fork until mixed. Add egg mixture to flour blend mixture; stir just until moistened. Shape pastry into a ball; flatten slightly. Wrap in plastic food wrap; refrigerate until chilled (at least 1 hour).

Remove from refrigerator; let stand 15 minutes at room temperature. Unwrap pastry; place onto parchment paper lightly floured with gluten-free flour blend. Lightly flour pastry with gluten-free flour blend; top with another sheet of parchment paper. Roll out pastry into 12-inch circle. Transfer pastry to ungreased 9-inch pie pan, pressing firmly against bottom and sides and sealing any cracks as necessary. Crimp or flute edge. Fill and bake according to pie recipe directions.

For baked unfilled pie shell, prick crust all over with fork. Bake at 475°F. for 8 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Fill as desired.

Gluten-Free Flour Blend: To make flour blend, combine 2 cups rice flour, 2/3 cup potato starch, 1/3 cup tapioca flour and 1 teaspoon xanthan gum. Use appropriate amount for recipe; store remainder in container with tight-fitting lid. Stir before using.

I am putting a link to the site to give credit.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Gluten-Free Oatmeal Muffins

1 cup buttermilk

1 cup oatmeal (either quick or old-fashioned)
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup melted butter (half cube)

Mix the first four ingredients in your mixing bowl and let them sit while you mix the other ingredients in a separate bowl.

1 cup gluten-free flour (2/3 rice flour, 1/3 combination of either tapioca flour, potato starch, or other gluten-free flour)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. xanthan gum (available in health food section of grocery store)
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
(Optional – 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg)
(Optional – 1/2 cup flaxseed meal)

Mix the dry ingredients together and add to the oatmeal/liquid mixture.
Beat in 3 eggs
Add walnuts, coconut and if desired, flaxseed meal and mix well.

Mix thoroughly with electric mixer for a minute or so.
Spoon into muffin tins. Bake at 375 degrees for about 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and firm.

Makes six large muffins or 12 small (cupcake-sized) muffins.

Saturday, July 2, 2011

The Essential Gluten Free Restaurants Guide

A Review Of: The Essential Gluten Free Restaurants Guide

Author: Brue Baker

As celiac disease, or the inability to digest the protein gluten, has become an increasing problem many people have had to change their lifestyles and diets.

As more and more people are required to eat gluten free foods, a need for gluten free restaurants has become evident. It is hard to keep up with eating tasty, healthy, gluten free food recipes all the time at home and those who can't eat gluten, like to eat out just as much as anyone else.

"The Essential Gluten Free Restaurant Guide"

If you are looking for more information about gluten free restaurants you could look for a book named "The Essential Gluten Free Restaurant Guide." This is a great guide that contains four hundred pages that list all of the best gluten free restaurants in a directory that is simple to use.

This guide also lists all of the items on the menus of 800 chain restaurants that are gluten free. This is certainly best option for you to find out where to eat out when you want to eat gluten free food.

This book will let you see the gluten free restaurants that are located in your state and can come in especially handy when you plan on traveling, or want to eat out when out on a business trip, or even wish to go out with your friends and family. With all the different gluten free restaurants listed, you should be able to know beforehand where you are going to get gluten free food wherever you may be in the United States.

Using this gluten free restaurants guide, you can easily find out where gluten-free menus are available and whether the restaurants are providing gluten-free specialty dishes. It will also tell you whether the establishment has hundred percent gluten-free menus, and if you want to eat at a chain restaurant, the guide will show you which of these serve up gluten-free food.

Furthermore, you can also find out the estimated cost of your meal at these gluten free restaurants which can start from fifteen dollars and go up to twenty-five dollars and more.

Another thing that the guide book will help you with is letting you research the restaurant and know whether it is buffet style place, a sandwich shop, or a restaurant to get an evening dinner. The guide also keeps up on local food sanitation regulations and lists restaurants where there is risk of food contamination. Since restaurant businesses of open, close and change suddenly you should call ahead and enquire if the restaurant is still serving gluten-free food and ask whether the gluten-free specialty food is in stock or not.

Once you enter the gluten free restaurant, you should meet the host/hostess and introduce yourself and tell him or her about your special requirements and enquire about the gluten-free menu. Finally confirm that they have understood your diet needs and can provide you with a suitable gluten-free meal.

It may seem embarrassing to make your condition known to everyone, remember that you are simply taking active steps to ensure your health. There is certainly nothing embarrassing about that.

Being cautious is recommended as it can save you from health problems and will also get you a delicious as well as a safe gluten-free dining experience.

Article Source:

About the Author

Brue M. Baker is a natural health and fitness expert whose distinguished ability to help people skyrocket their health and well-being has become known all over the world. If you would like to learn how you can live a simple, gluten free lifestyle let Brue introduce you to what he considers to be the best Gluten free lifestyle guide on the planet. Visit: to learn more.

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Gluten Free Kitchen and Restaurant Tips

Gluten Free Kitchen and Restaurant Tips

Author: Gail Mercedes

One of the main concerns with a gluten free diet is cross-contamination. Gluten meals have to be prepared with no cross contamination from gluten products in your kitchen and in restaurants. Cross-contamination happens if gluten containing foods come in contact with gluten free foods. An example is commercial oaks. Oats are gluten free but can be processed in the same environment as wheat there for can become cross contaminated. For those that require a gluten-free diet oaks should not be consumed. Likewise, preparation of gluten free foods requires rules to eliminate cross-contamination with gluten produces in your home and in restaurant.

Here are a few kitchen tips:

1.Use two different sifter for gluten foods and gluten free foods. Label the two sifters one for gluten and the other for gluten-free.

2. Do not prepare gluten foods on same surface with gluten free foods. If the same surface is used it must be cleaned thoroughly before gluten free food preparation.

3. Use different utensils for gluten free foods and foods containing gluten. If the same utensils are used the utensils have to be cleaned thoroughly for gluten free products.

4. The same toaster cannot be used for gluten containing foods and gluten free foods. A separate toaster is needed for gluten free products.

5. Gluten free foods cannot be fried in the same oil used to fry gluten breaded items. One simple rule that can be easily overlooked.

6. Cross contamination can occur with jams, jelly, mustard, mayonnaise and butter. Watch out for gluten crumbs that can be shared. Have separate items for celiac persons.

Gluten Free Tips at Restaurants:

1. Check with waiter or owner of the restaurant to verify that fried foods are not cooked in same oil as gluten products.

2. In restaurant the grill has to be cleaned before preparing gluten free foods.

3. Verify that salad dressings, sauces, gravies and fried foods are gluten free.

Many everyday products contain GlutenGluten Free Safe Foods:

-Fish and meats (cannot be marinated, breaded or basted coated)
-Most dairy products
-Fresh fruit

-Fresh vegetables
-Gluten free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato)
-Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits

Note: “Wheat-Free” does not mean gluten free. These products may still contain gluten.

-Fresh poultry

-Food additives, malt flavoring, modified food starch and etc.
-Many vitamins and medications use gluten as a binding agent
-Lipstick and lip balms
-Postage stamps (only used the self adhesive)
-Play dough

HONEST INGREDIENTS: The Paleo Dairy Free and Gluten Free Cookbooks combines 310 recipes. All which are gluten-free, dairy-free and preservative-free recipes. A healthy low fat diet consisting of lean meat, fish, poultry, raw fruits and vegetables and nuts. Delicious healthy dairy free recipes that anyone can enjoy.

Order: Paleo Gluten Free Recipe Cookbook For a selection for Favorite Secret Recipes Order: Favorite Recipe Secrets.

Article Source:

About the Author

Like most people I am a multi-tasker. I am a wife, mom and businesswoman. Recently, I have been researching foods, ingredients and recipes. Different cultures have influenced our daily menus. I have a collection of favorite cookbooks. The cookbooks vary from copycat restaurant recipes, pizza secrets, authentic Chinese cooking, the Mediterranean Diet to specialty diets. We all have to eat. Why not learn to cook varied healthy meals. Hope you enjoy my article. I really enjoy writing them.

Gluten Free Wine, Gluten Free Beer And Gluten Free Liquor

Gluten Free Wine, Gluten Free Beer And Gluten Free Liquor, Do They Exist And Does It Matter?

Author: Bruce Scott Dwyer


Eating only gluten free products is vital to any celiac or gluten intolerant person, so what about alcohol in general?

Firstly it appears that there are three distinct types: General liquor, gluten free beer and gluten free wines.


Many articles suggest that as long as alcoholic beverages are not based on wheat or other gluten grains that they will be gluten free. They suggest using liquors such as grappa (made from grapes), ouzo (aniseed, fennel seed aromatic plants ) rum (sugar Cane ), sake (rice ) etc. Other articles have suggested that gluten is destroyed in the distillation process so that all alcoholic beverages will be gluten free.

However a 1992 Flemish Celiac Society report found gluten in several varieties of distilled liquor. The levels varied from zero to 200-mg gluten/liter with the highest amount in "Creme de Framboise" (200 mg/liter) and French brandy VSOP had 180 m g/liter. Subsequently, sites have speculated that the "gluten might be derived from the caramel coloring" and suggests that it is best for coeliacs to "abstain from brown colored liquor" (ref 1)

There is a note of caution that the detection of gluten in alcoholic drinks is very unreliable as "the gluten proteins could have been broken down to small (but still toxic) peptides and in that case a sandwich-type ELISA might produce false negative results because in that case you always need to two epitopes (binding sites for the antiserum) on one molecule to get a positive reaction." (ref 1)

The difficulty with general liqueurs is that since this has not been recognised as a major problem in society, and as testing is difficult and potentially expensive, liquor makers are unlikely to test and label their products as gluten free any time soon, even if they are gluten free.

Your best option appears to be either to avoid liquor altogether or choose types not based on gluten grains, such as whiskeys.


The beer area seems relatively clear cut. In the same study as above "The beer test, which consisted of a set of 50 different brands, showed that most brands (35) did contain immunoreactive protein in amounts between 1 and 200 mg/liter. Only 15 contained less than 1 mg/liter. There was a strong correlation between the gluten content and whether wheat had been used as an ingredient!" (ref 1)

The Technical Officer of The Coeliac Society of Australia also agrees by saying that " the (beer) brewing process unfortunately does not render ‘normal' beer gluten free" (ref 3)

"Beer contains Gluten, either in the grains used within the brewing process, or even the yeast itself may be grown in a medium which contains Gluten. Therefore if you are a Coeliac, you can not drink Beer that contains Gluten otherwise you will become sick." (Ref 4)

All articles are definitive on the point that if a celiac wishes to drink beer, they must drink gluten free beer only.


WINE is one of the most contentious areas of the gluten free alcohol industry. The majority of articles suggest that wine is naturally gluten free as it is made from grapes and no grains are involved in the preservative process. However other articles suggest a different story.

"Some wines are aged in barrels that once contained another substance that could have held a glutinous product. This is rare, but can happen. Also you will want to avoid Wine Coolers. Wine Coolers are NOT Gluten Free, because they contain barely malt." (Ref 3)

"There is also some concern with cross contamination with wines that involves the practice of sealing the barrels with a flour/water paste that is common with European Union barrel manufacturers. Most US based manufactures currently use a neutral food grade paraffin to seal the barrels during the construction process, but there are some manufacturers that import and use the flour/water based barrels."(Ref 3)

Reference 3 also mentions that the hard paste part of the wheat glue may not be fully removed in the cleaning process and that you can mostly trust wines that are "almost always" made without a barrel aging process such as: "Whites - Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand, Italian Pinot Grigio, Bag-In-The-Box wines; and Reds: Bag-In-The-Box wines." (Ref 3)

You will note that many of the wineries listed in the gluten free pages winery directory are there because their cafes provide gluten free food. And this is often a matter of just including gluten free bread in their offerings. While rare, but still in existence, are wineries that also sell wine labelled as gluten free. You may need to check that these carry the official gluten free authority symbols.

It is suggested that while gluten contamination of wines in America may be relatively rare that a celiac should consider asking wine makers if the wine is gluten free, if it is, then ask if it is certified by a gluten free authority. If they don't know if it is gluten free maybe you should ask what kind of barrels they use. The gluten free alcohol story is one of ‘better safe than sorry', especially if you have been so good with avoiding gluten in the rest of your diet!


Ref 1

Ref 3

Article Source:

About the Author

Original career in electronic engineering morphed into Corporate Marketing via MBA in 1998. In the Last few years I have had a strong interest in e-marketing and website optimisation. My strongest desire is to be working in the sustainability industry which causes large reductions in greenhouse gases. Save the planet, save the people

MedicineNet Daily News


Search This Blog

Gluten-Free Recipes on Redgage

“I made Money See My Gluten-Free Recipes on RedGage Click Here!


About Me

My photo

I I am a "boomer" soon to retire. I enjoy surfing on the internet,learning as much as i can. Blogging has been my interest the last 2 years,even though I enjoy writing and reading the latest news on almost anything.
Overall rating